Vacation Jar Workshop

August 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm Leave a comment

Many of my customers took some amazing vacations this Summer, so I thought it’d be fun to offer a Vacation Jar Workshop to help the kids memorialize their trips. I only had one child sign up, which was fine with me. I was able to really give R my full attention and help him create something he was very proud of.

First we evaluated what we had to work with. I interviewed R about his trip to Maui so I could help him narrow his choices.
Vacation Jar Workshop

I knew beforehand that R was bringing tokens from Hawaii, so I gathered some more materials for him to use like sand, Hawaiian print fabric, a variety of papers, drift wood, etc. We talked about different options he had, made some decisions about composition and then got to work.

Vacation Jar Workshop

gathering, labeling & assembling

After some finishing touches, the jar was complete. R immediately walked over to show his Dad, who lit up with surprise when he saw the memento.  Here’s a closeup of the jar>>

Vacation Jar Workshop

proud of his creation

All materials, including the fancy jar,  were included in the workshop price of only $10. Not too shabby! To find out more about upcoming workshops, go here: http://www.averyboo.com/workshops.html

OH, and tried to get my 4 yo son to work on a nature jar with me, but he decided to do this instead…

It was more fun for A to place scissors in jars & hide them under easels. The End.

Entry filed under: workshop. Tags: , , , .

Dance Party! Nature Display Wednesday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 558 other followers


