New Planters!

March 20, 2011 at 12:29 am Leave a comment

The studio has been open now for 2 years!
One of the many upgrades on my “to do” list has been to make planters out front to help draw attention from the street and keep people from leaning on the glass while waiting for the bus.

First, I *really* needed to paint the side walk. Really. It’s so boring and bland out there; people don’t notice we exist. My landlord never liked the idea of painting when I brought it up to him, but I have to make the storefront a reflection of me.

Next, I found galvanized trash cans in several different sizes at OSH. I thought they would be super cute and complement our creative reuse philosophy.

My Mom gathered succulents from her house & I from mine (including poky cactus). I also bought some purple cabbage and horsetail grass to create our little urban garden. It took 6 hours to put the containers together.

The plants still need to fill in a bit more, but I love it! I’ve noticed lots of smiles from people walking past, which always feels good. A big “Thank You” to my Mom who did all the planting!!! Here are some photos…

Averyboo Arts

BEFORE photo. See, wasn't it bland?

Averyboo Arts

Blue & Green paint added to the front sidewalk.

Averyboo Arts

Shiny new cans & plants

Averyboo Arts

Very happy!

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Favorite Photo Friday Painting with Paper – Van Gogh Irises

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 558 other followers


