Knight Party – Part1

February 17, 2012 at 10:47 pm 15 comments

My son just turned 6!
This year he requested (out-of-the-blue) a Knight themed party. The challenge was on! Below are pictures of the invite, color scheme, and activities….

I made a tunic for each child to wear & take home. The tunic was no-sew except for the side ties. It was simple to assemble, but I had to make 8 so it did take a couple hours to complete them all.

If you’d like specific info on anything you see, feel free to leave a comment.
Next, I’ll be posting about the cake >>

Averyboo Arts Knight Party

Entry filed under: Birthdays. Tags: , .

Valentine’s Day Party Dragon Cake, Knight Party – Part2

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marty moore  |  September 9, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Where did you get your shields from?

    Reply
    • 2. averyboo arts  |  September 9, 2012 at 2:12 am

      We made them ourselves from boxes.

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  October 21, 2012 at 1:41 am

    Did you make your own knight apparel there too? Is it fabric or paper? Also I love the cups! Where did you find them?

    Reply
    • 4. averyboo arts  |  October 21, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      Yes, I made the tunics also. I made them from felt so they would be “no sew”. I just took some pictures & measurements for you. I’ll put them together and post later today. If I remember correctly, it cost about $15 to make 8 tunics. I had intended to post patterns, but never got around to it and now it’s almost a yr later πŸ˜›

      I found the cups at a party supply store called Alin’s in the pirate themed section. They were easy, inexpensive & perfect! If you can’t find them locally you can try buying gold paper cups & glue jewels on them. Jewels can be expensive, but you might be able to use them in a party craft or goody bag too. I did a quick search & found the cups here: http://www.birthdaydirect.com/pirate-party-cups-p-10553.html

      Reply
  • 5. averyboo arts  |  November 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    Hi Jackie sorry for super late post about the tunics… I finally posted the pics with measurements today. You can find it here: http://wp.me/pNQ4S-hY

    Reply
  • 6. Michelle  |  November 27, 2012 at 10:24 am

    What did you have the kids use to decorate their shields and did you attach a handle on the back (if so, what did you use). Cute party!

    Reply
    • 7. averyboo arts  |  November 27, 2012 at 10:54 am

      Thanks! Yes, we hot glued a cardboard handle on the back. Take a strip of cardboard about 1.5″x12″, make a fan-fold on both ends 1″ in & then about 2″ from there. You will hot glue the 1″ fold on to the shield. I hope that makes sense πŸ™‚ We decorated them with markers, sparkles & felt scraps I had left over from the tunics & banners I made. I didn’t put out paints because they would’ve taken too long to dry. Doesn’t have to be fancy, kids will be creative on their own & proud of their shields.

      Reply
  • 8. Stacy  |  April 17, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    What a great party! What materials did you use for the catapult?

    Reply
    • 9. averyboo arts  |  April 17, 2013 at 8:22 pm

      Hi Stacy. To make the catapult, I used a heavy piece of wood (I think it was a pc of 2×4), a clothes pin & a plastic twist bottle cap. For the cannon balls, I scrunched newspaper & wrapped them in masking tape. I also used corks and black pom pom balls for variety. It was fun for the kids to see which traveled farther or which were easier to control.

      Reply
      • 10. Stacy  |  April 20, 2013 at 7:52 pm

        Thank you! My son is having a knight birthday party next weekend. I am going to attempt this project! πŸ™‚

      • 11. averyboo arts  |  April 20, 2013 at 8:49 pm

        FYI – A hot glue gun helps a ton with the catapult construction. Good luck & have fun!

  • 12. bluemoonbotanicals  |  September 15, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    This is awesome! My son wants a knight party … This Saturday!!! Where did you get the stick dragons and horses?

    Reply
  • 14. ilona  |  September 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    Great looking party! My almost five year old is completely taken with the King Arthur stories and has also requested a knight themed party. Love the activities you set up (Balloon swords! Cheap and no one gets hurt! Genius!). I’m curious how you set up the jousting activity.

    Reply
    • 15. averyboo arts  |  September 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

      Hi, Ilona.. We set up the jousting activity like a race. Rather than attacking each other, they raced side by side through obstacles. They used the lance to “spear” hoops & hit hanging balloons, etc. The final 2 winners raced each other for the victory. The balloon swords were perfect – they went crazy hitting each other with them & there were no tears πŸ™‚ Good luck with your party!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 558 other followers


